On Death Blog 28March2015

Standard

We have been mourning the loss of a dear friend of ours, more like a brother. It was very sudden, a vehicle accident, and his wife just recently came home from the hospital, still needing care. This man’s life touched so many all around the world. He will truly be missed by thousands. I am sure a year from now, there will be those who will hear of his passing for the first time and their shock and sorrow will be as deep as those of ours who received the news within the first day. I am thankful for a recitation I heard a few years back, by Charlie Daniels, Long Leaf Pines album – no singing, just two friends talking – Psalms 23, you can hear it on you tube: (open in ‘new tab’ or ‘window’  so you can keep reading this) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DSIuvM6YTww

glenjoy GlenJoy

Sometimes researching can be very revealing and very emotional. As we are researching our ancestors, mourning over those who passed the month or year before we found them, even over those who passed on many years ago that we are just finding out about, let us not forget those that are living still.

We all have a beginning and an ending. We will all meet our maker in the end.

Whether we are first time genealogists, or long time genealogists, or professional genealogists, we are all searching for where we came from and where we are going, how we got to where we are and where do we go from here, and where will our descendants go from here.

May we pause for just a moment and thing about what death was for our ancestors? What did it mean to them? Did they celebrate it?, did they ignore it?, did they try to avoid it? Perhaps there is nothing revealing to us today about how our great, great, great, great, great grandparents or aunts and uncles did or did not confront the dead and death while they were living.

What about you? Are you singing the song., “This world is not my home, I’m just a passing through”?
I was surprised to find that just on YouTube, of about 24,900,000 results, even in Navajo, surprising, right?

but I found this one on Vimeo, it comes straight from her heart  https://vimeo.com/5739427 (you can right click and click on new tab or new window to continue reading this while listening)

GlenDancing

Talk about dancing and singing!, I had never even heard of this next song, but it celebrated our friends life, one other family member put this up:  (This should put a smile on your face)  (you can right click and click on new tab or new window to continue reading this while listening)     Your first day in heaven https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UciPFZHkJHo

What do you believe about eternity, or do you? Are you rejoicing while you are living that one day you will be in heaven, without a shadow of a doubt? Are you afraid that there is no after life?, afraid to die?

Only a quarter of my ancestors were Quakers, only part of them mentioned affiliation to church or religion.

I don’t know about the dead, it is not my place to judge the dead or the living, nor would I ever want that responsibility and I am so very grateful that I don’t have to know a person’s heart.

I do have to be accountable for my own heart though, my own soul. One day death will come, and I will have to be accountable for my life. As each one of us will have to be.

GlenRiddle   If you would like to help out my friends family – Thank You and you can help out here:
http://www.gracechurchabq.org/the-riddle-family-donation-fund/

Leave a Reply

