Family Ghosts on Roots Day

Standard

Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of December 23rds Past

Today I learned that today is Root’s Day!

  • Every one has a past, whether it is a few minutes, a few months, a few years or a whole lifetime.
  • Everyone has a present and
  • None of us know what is in our future, near future or far future.

1> What would your ghost of Christmas past show you?

For me, I can think of family getting together, at home, at a relatives, traveling to or from a relatives, even at a neighbors house.Once I was sick with the flu, most were happy times, some were so so.

Now would be a good time to take just 15 minutes and write down a Christmas memory to pass on to your family. You don’t have to tell them about it this Christmas nor do you need to let them read it this Christmas. Perhaps you have a box in a drawer, or a trunk, or a chest, or an envelope you can put it in for later discovery.

2> What would your ghost of Christmas present show you?

For me, this year we didn’t decorate, didn’t put up lights, we are waiting for 3 kings day. Each of our kids are celebrating with the ‘other’ families, 🙂 and I mean this with a smile. So instead of trying to cram in 3 Christmas dinners and all in one day, we are going to Celebrate 3 Kings day, it’s 12 days after Christmas. A time to represent when the 3 wise men came and gave presents to “the young child”. Our grandkids will come over on Saturday night, (since they have school on Monday we have to do it Saturday and Sunday)  they will put out carrots and water and 3 boxes of hay for the camels. In the morning the ‘wise men’ will have left 3 presents, small, medium, and large for each of them.

3> Now, What would your ghost of Christmas future show you?

Well we all know the saying about Death and Taxes and most of us have seen the show, “The Christmas Carole”, but what are your hopes and dreams for the future?

Yesterday afternoon, I mustered up my courage and called a cousin I haven’t talked to since I was a young child, he is 74 now and I introduced myself and told him who my parents were and we began to talk about family. He had some genealogy of my grandmothers family and had turned it over to a Historical Society. I left the genealogy as a starting point and didn’t push for a lot of information. Once I learned he didn’t have it there and he told me how to get a hold of it and to also call his brother, we then spent the next hour sharing memories and stories and what was going on now in our lives and what we were looking forward to in 2014. We really enjoyed talking with each other.

So to you I say, Merry Christmas, Happy 3 Kings Day and May your New Year be full of great family finds and great family times!

Oogway: One often meets his destiny on the road he takes to avoid it.
Po: Maybe I should just quit and go back to making noodles.
Oogway: Quit, don’t quit? Noodles, don’t noodles? You are too concerned about what was and what will be. There is a saying: yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That is why it is called the “present.”

where I heard about Roots Day – No I am not Jewish, but I do enjoy learning about differences in each of our lives

http://www.jewishtreats.org/2013/12/digging-for-ones-roots.html

4 thoughts on “Family Ghosts on Roots Day

Leave a Reply

